The Revolution of Birdie Randolph

The Revolution of Birdie Randolph

Perfect for fans of Nina LaCour and Nicola Yoon comes a novel about first love and family secrets from Stonewall Book Award winner Brandy Colbert.

Dove "Birdie" Randolph works hard to be the perfect daughter and follow the path her parents have laid out for her: She quit playing her beloved soccer, she keeps her nose buried in textbooks, and she's on track to finish high school at the top of her class. But then Birdie falls hard for Booker, a sweet boy with a troubled past...whom she knows her parents will never approve of.

When her estranged aunt Carlene returns to Chicago and moves into the family's apartment above their hair salon, Birdie notices the tension building at home. Carlene is sweet, friendly, and open-minded--she's also spent decades in and out of treatment facilities for addiction. As Birdie becomes closer to both Booker and Carlene, she yearns to spread her wings. But when long-buried secrets rise to the surface, everything she's known to be true is turned upside down.

Title:The Revolution of Birdie Randolph
Edition Language:English
ISBN:9780316448567
Format Type:

    The Revolution of Birdie Randolph Reviews

  • Chelsea (chelseadolling reads)

    This was so raw and real and nuanced and sex positive and I loved it so damn much. Brandy Colbert is a master when it comes to writing hard-hitting, realistic YA and I am forever in awe of her. Read t...

  • Cristina Monica

    This is a book that truly surprised me. First, Brandy Colbert completely improved upon her previous release—Finding Yvonne—a book I did not care to finish. I enjoyed Little & Lion from her, but th...

  • Katie B

    I finished this a few days ago and the more I think about this book, the more I appreciate all of the things the author managed to do with the story. At first it seems like a fairly simple story but i...

  • Yesenia Juarez

    This was good, I appreciated the subtleties of the messages delivered in this book!...

  • Camryn

    This is my second favorite Brandy Colbert book after Pointe! I didn’t expect to like this so much or to stay up reading the whole thing, but it was so readable and almost comforting in that way that...

  • Dahlia

    Brandy Colbert stays very, very, very good at what she does....

  • Kelly

    I don't think Brandy Colbert needs a comparison to stand out, as she's proven herself a voice in YA. But the ARC compares her to Nicola Yoon and Nina LaCour and I'd absolutely agree: this is a quieter...

  • Toya

    Have you ever read a book that immediately transports you back to your teenage, awkward self? This was that book for me, and what made it even better was the fact that this story was about black chara...

  • Kayla Brunson

    This was my first book by Brandy Colbert and I was excited to start it. This covers some serious topics and also has quite a bit of diversity. However, what kept me from really loving this book were t...

  • Neville Longbottom

    4.5 - A great YA contemporary about family, relationships, and the impact that addiction can have on a family. I loved how sex-positive this book was, it was also great to see how much queer & ace rep...