The Wolf Wants In

The Wolf Wants In

In a small town ravaged by the opioid crisis, a woman confronts a dark secret about her brother's shocking death--a gripping novel of suspense for fans of Sharp Objects and S-Town.

Sadie Keller is determined to find out how her brother died, even if no one else thinks it's worth investigating. Untimely deaths are all too common in rural Blackwater, Kansas, where crime and overdoses are on the rise, and the small-town police force is consumed with the recent discovery of a child's skull in the woods. Sadie is on her own, delving into the dark corners of a life her brother kept hidden and unearthing more questions than answers.

Eighteen-year-old Henley Pettit knows more than she'd like to about the seedy side of Blackwater, and she's desperate to escape before she's irreparably entangled in her family's crimes. She dreams of disappearing and leaving her old life behind, but shedding the past is never easy, and getting out of town will be far more dangerous than she ever imagined.

As more bones are found in the woods, time is running out for Sadie to uncover the truth and for Henley to make her escape. Both women are torn between family loyalties and the weight of the secrets they carry, knowing full well that while some secrets are hard to live with, others will get you killed.

Like Laura McHugh's previous award-winning thrillers, The Weight of Blood and Arrowood, The Wolf Wants In is an atmospheric, beautifully told novel that barrels toward a twisting, chilling end and keeps us turning the page to find out how these small-town secrets will unravel--and who will survive.

Title:The Wolf Wants In
ISBN:9780399590283
Format Type:

    The Wolf Wants In Reviews

  • Julie

    The Wolf Wants in by Laura McHugh is a 2019 Spiegel & Grau publication. Engrossing and densely atmospheric! Sadie Keller can’t reconcile her brother’s untimely death with his official cause of dea...

  • Chelsea Humphrey

    Atmospheric, emotional, and compelling, I found The Wolf Wants In to be a story full of heartbreak and hope. Laura McHugh has woven together a narrative that is equal parts suspenseful mystery and mov...

  • Diane S ?

    3.5 Not sure I would consider this a thriller per say. There are deaths but they result from the actions of the forces at work in this small Kansas town. The force being the opiod crisis which has aff...

  • Katie B

    3.5 starsThis is not the type of book you read when you are looking for something light and easy. It's a pretty depressing read which isn't surprising because it deals with tough issues like grief, ad...

  • Nenia ?? Khaleesi of Bodice Rippers, Protector of Out of Print Gems, Mother of Smut, and Actual Garbage Can ?? Campbell

    Instagram || Twitter || Facebook || Amazon || PinterestWow, I don't think I've been on a good book streak that lasted this long in a while! When I picked this up I had my doubts, because so many th...

  • Book of Secrets

    3.75 Stars → THE WOLF WANTS IN is a quiet mystery/family drama set in a small Kansas town. Sadie Keller believes her brother has died under suspicious circumstances and wants answers. At the same ti...

  • Linda

    If you call one wolf, you invite the pack.The Wolf Wants In casts the shadow of the lone wolf poised at the door. You know he's there. It's just a matter of time before he breaks through that screen a...

  • karen

    reviewed for l.a. review of books, scheduled to run 10/11.POSTED:https://lareviewofbooks.org/article/i...come to my blog!...

  • Michelle

    This is a very strong work of fiction. I thought it was going to be a lot darker and I’m so glad it wasn’t! Don't get me wrong, this still deals with some very heavy topics (the opioid crisis, a s...

  • Zoeytron

    In the small rural town of Blackwater, Kansas, the murmurings of the cornstalks keep their own counsel.  There are secrets here that beg to be uncovered.  The strength of family stands tall, whether...